The 2017 Griffin Poetry Prize Anthology: A Selection of the Shortlist


In stock


Author: Goyette, Sue

Number Of Pages: 120

EAN: 9781487002329

Release Date: 03-06-2017

Languages: English

Item Condition: UsedGood

Binding: Paperback

Details: Product Description Each year, the best books of poetry published in English internationally and in Canada are honoured with the Griffin Poetry Prize, one of the world’s most prestigious and richest literary awards. Since 2001 this annual prize has tremendously spurred interest in and recognition of poetry, focusing worldwide attention on the formidable talent of poets writing in English and works in translation. Each year The Griffin Poetry Prize Anthology features the work of the extraordinary poets shortlisted for the awards and introduces us to some of the finest poems in their collections. Royalties generated from The 2017 Griffin Poetry Prize Anthology will be donated to UNESCO’s World Poetry Day, which was created to support linguistic diversity through poetic expression and to offer endangered languages the opportunity to be heard in their communities. Shortlist announced: April 11, 2017Readings: June 7, 2017Prizes awarded: June 8, 2017 Review Praise for The Griffin Poetry Prize Anthology:“The world’s premier international poetry prize.” — Maclean’s“The Griffin Poetry Prize is a rich tribute to an art form largely and stupidly ignored by the public … an annual report on the state of the poetry nation.” — Globe and Mail“The Olympics of poetry.” — Sylvia Fraser, Toronto Life“Already of the first calibre — a great shortlist, great judges, great trustees, great intent.” — National Post“I am very pleased to have been able to help with the inception of this important prize. Poetry is at the heart of language; it’s good to see it given the recognition it deserves.” — Margaret Atwood on the inaugural 2001 anthology About the Author Sue Goyette lives in Halifax and has published five books of poetry and a novel. Her latest collection is The Brief Reincarnation of a Girl. She’s been nominated for several awards, including the 2014 Griffin Poetry Prize, and has won the CBC Literary Prize for Poetry, the Bliss Carman, Pat Lowther, and J. M. Abraham Poetry Awards, as well as the 2015 Lieutenant Governor of Nova Scotia Masterworks Arts Award for her collection, Ocean. Sue currently teaches in the Creative Writing Program at Dalhousie University. Joan Naviyuk Kane is the author of The Cormorant Hunter’s Wife, Hyperboreal, The Straits, and Milk Black Carbon, which is forthcoming in the Pitt Poetry Series. Her awards include the Whiting Writer’s Award, the Donald Hall Prize in Poetry, the American Book Award, the Alaska Literary Award, and fellowships from the Rasmuson Foundation, the Native Arts and Cultures Foundation, and the School for Advanced Research. Kane graduated from Harvard College, where she was a Harvard National Scholar, and Columbia University’s School of the Arts, where she was the recipient of a graduate Writing Fellowship. Inupiaq with family from King Island and Mary’s Igloo, she raises her sons in Anchorage, Alaska, and is MFA faculty at the Institute of American Indian Arts in Santa Fe, New Mexico. George Szirtes was born in Budapest in 1948 and came to England as a refugee with his parents and younger brother following the Hungarian Uprising of 1956. He grew up in London and trained as a painter in Leeds and London. He is the author of some fifteen books of poetry, roughly the same of translation from Hungarian, and a few miscellaneous other books. His first, The Slant Door was joint winner of the Faber Memorial Prize. He won the T. S. Eliot Prize for Reel, and was shortlisted for the prize for The Burning of the Books and for Bad Machine. His other prizes include the Cholmondeley Award, and the Bess Hokin Prize in the USA. Bloodaxe Books published his New and Collected Poems in 2008. It was listed in The Independent as one of the Books of the Year. His translations from Hungarian have won international prizes, including the Best Translated Book Award in the USA for László Krasznahorkai’s Satantango and his latest book for children, In the Land of the Giants won the CLPE Prize for best collection of

Payment & Security

American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Visa

Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

Estimate shipping

You may also like